Master’s degree
Masterstudiengang Architektur
Master's in Architecture
Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences · Fakultät für Architektur und Bauwesen · Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
- Official award
- Master of Arts (M. A.)M.A.
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for Germany
- Format
- On campus4 Semester
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Four-semester, 120-ECTS master's that emphasises developing a personal architectural position rather than lecture-based knowledge transfer.
Intended audience: Graduates of a bachelor's program who want to develop their own architectural style.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Fakultät für Architektur und Bauwesen
- Awarding body
- Hochschule Karlsruhe
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- The school states the master's degree is notified under the EU professional-recognition procedure, so graduates may establish themselves as architects across Europe without individual case checks.“Sie dürfen sich mit Ihrem Masterabschluss der Hochschule Karlsruhe im Fach Architektur europaweit als Architekt:in niederlassen, ohne eine aufwendige Einzelfallprüfung durchführen zu lassen.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Yes
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Membership of the Baden-Württemberg chamber requires a relevant degree with a normal period of study of at least four years (usually bachelor plus master) and at least two years of supervised professional practice. (state chamber page, not specific to this program)Source
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Stated by the schoolEuropean Commission notification under the EU professional-qualifications procedure (IMI no. 154477), as stated by the schoolEligibility toward registrationOther statusDE
Scope: Masterstudiengang Architektur at Hochschule Karlsruhe: notified for the European professional recognition procedure
Further requirements: Not stated on the page; chamber requirements of the destination country apply
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 4 Semester
- Credits
- 120 ECTSCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Winter semester
- Campus
- Hochschule Karlsruhe, MoltkestraßeMoltkestraße 30, 76133 Karlsruhe
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not publishedApplication details and deadlines are on the university's separate application pages (not captured). No pre-internship required.
- Interview
- Not published
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)