Master’s degree
Master of Architecture
Iowa State University · Department of Architecture, College of Design · Ames, Iowa, United States
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campusthree-year program
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Three-year accredited professional master of architecture for applicants with degrees in other fields, with advanced standing available to those holding a four-year non-accredited architecture degree.
Intended audience: Applicants with undergraduate degrees outside architecture, and holders of four-year non-accredited architecture degrees.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Department of Architecture, College of Design
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page describes the M.Arch as an accredited professional degree.“The Master of Architecture (MArch) is a three-year accredited professional degree”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Depends on route
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior degree in another subject | three-year program | 90 | undergraduate degree in a discipline other than architectureSource |
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | advanced standing (first two semesters of the curriculum may be waived) | – | four-year, non-accredited professional degree in architecture such as the Bachelor of Science in ArchitectureSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture, Ames campus (NAAB Program Directory entry: Iowa State University, Master of Architecture; status "Accredited"; last reaffirmation 2022; next team visit 2030)
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2029
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- three-year program
- Credits
- 90 semester creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Ames campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio depends on routeThe page says advanced-standing applicants have their portfolios reviewed.
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)