Bachelor’s degree
Bachelor of Architecture
Iowa State University · Department of Architecture, College of Design · Ames, Iowa, United States
- Official award
- Bachelor of ArchitectureB.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campus5 years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Five-year professional degree beginning with a one-year College of Design core program, followed by four years of focused architectural study that ends with a research semester and an interdisciplinary studio.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Department of Architecture, College of Design
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree entered after secondary school.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page describes the B.Arch as an accredited five-year professional program; NAAB accreditation recorded separately.“an accredited 165-credit five-year undergraduate professional program, including the 31-credit Core Design Program, leading to the Bachelor of Architecture degree”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- No
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | 5 years | 165 | one year of the Core Design Program, then admission to the professional programSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Bachelor of Architecture, Ames campus (NAAB Program Directory entry: Iowa State University, Bachelor of Architecture; status "Accredited"; last reaffirmation 2022; next team visit 2030)
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2029
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 5 years
- Credits
- 165 semester creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Ames campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- One year of the College of Design Core Design Program
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)