Master’s degree
MArch Architecture
Heriot-Watt University · School of Energy, Geoscience, Infrastructure and Society (EGIS) · Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
- Official award
- Master of Architecture (MArch)MArch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campus2 years
- Tuition
- £10,050per year, September 2027 intake
About this program
Two-year on-campus Master of Architecture in Edinburgh, ARB-accredited at master's level, open to applicants with or without Part 1.
Intended audience: Graduates wanting to deepen their knowledge of architecture, or people who already hold ARB Part 1.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Energy, Geoscience, Infrastructure and Society (EGIS)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page and ARB statement: the Master of Architecture is an ARB-accredited master's-level qualification under ARB's new education framework.“We are pleased to see Heriot-Watt University become a provider of an ARB-accredited master’s-level qualification under our new education framework.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- No
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Depends on previous study | 2 years | – | Minimum 2:2 honours degree and an excellent portfolio; ARB/RIBA Part 1 is not necessary to applySource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Program accreditationFull statusUK
Scope: Masters of Architecture in Architecture (ARB), master's-level accreditation, course starts September 2026
Dates: 27 April 2026 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 2 years
- Intakes
- September
- Campus
- Edinburgh campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredExcellent portfolio expected; relevant industry experience also considered.
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Previous qualification
- Minimum of a 2:2 honours degree
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Full Time, UKTuition | £10,050per year, September 2027 intake | UK | 19 October 2026Source |
| Full Time, InternationalTuition | £22,040per year, September 2027 intake | International | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)