Research doctorate (PhD)
Doctorat en architecture
Doctorate in Architecture
École nationale supérieure d’architecture de Strasbourg · École nationale supérieure d’architecture de Strasbourg · Strasbourg, Grand Est, France
- Official award
- Doctorat en architecture (diplôme national de doctorat, prepared at the school with a partner doctoral school)
- Pathway
- ResearchStated for France
- Format
- On campus3 ans
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Research doctorate in architecture prepared in a research unit of ENSA Strasbourg and a partner university doctoral school.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- École nationale supérieure d’architecture de Strasbourg
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
- Pathway
- Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
- Why we classify it this way
- The school page presents the doctorate as research training prepared within its research unit and a partner doctoral school.“Un troisième cycle, de trois ans, conduit au doctorat en architecture, en urbanisme ou en histoire de l’architecture.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordMinistère de la Culture / ministère chargé de l’Enseignement supérieurDegree-awarding authorityFull statusFR
Scope: ENSA first-cycle (licence) and second-cycle (master) architecture degrees, as stated for all ENSA on the Ministry page
Verified in official recordMinistère de la Culture (tutelle des ENSA)Institutional recognitionFull statusFR
Scope: Public administrative establishment under the Ministry of Culture; listed among the ENSA on the Ministry page
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 3 ans
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- ENSA Strasbourg (Strasbourg)Site web, Réseaux sociaux, Linkedin, Instagram, Facebook, Youtube, Adresse, 6-8 Boulevard du Président-Wilson, 67068 Strasbourg
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- Teaching language is not stated on the fetched page.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Tout étudiant ayant obtenu un Diplôme d’État en Architecture (DEA - conférant le grade Master) peut engager une thèse dans l’université de son choix.
Research degree details
- Department
- AMUP and ARCHE research units (ED 519, University of Strasbourg)
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)