Master’s degree
Master of Architecture
Deakin University · School of Architecture and Built Environment · Geelong, Victoria, Australia
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for Australia
- Format
- On campus1.5 or 2 years full-time or part-time equivalent depending on experience and previous qualifications
- Tuition
- A$9,881per year, As published (academic year not stated beside the figure)
About this program
Professional Master of Architecture at Deakin (Waterfront campus, Geelong) with a year-long architectural design thesis.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture and Built Environment
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- AACA states the accredited qualification in Australia is the Master of Architecture, and its accredited-qualifications list names this program.“In Australia, the accredited qualification is the Master of Architecture. Bachelor-level qualifications are not accredited.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- After two years of supervised professional practice, graduates can apply for registration with the Architects Registration Board of Victoria.Source
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordArchitects Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA) with the state and territory architect registration boardsProgram accreditationFull statusAU
Scope: Deakin Master of Architecture (course code S700), commencement year 2007 as listed by AACA (list updated September 2026)
Stated by the schoolArchitects Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA) / state architect registration boardProgram accreditationFull statusAU
Scope: Deakin states the Master of Architecture is an AACA accredited academic qualification
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- 1.5 or 2 years full-time or part-time equivalent depending on experience and previous qualifications
- Intakes
- Trimester 1, Trimester 2
- Campus
- Waterfront campus (Geelong)
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio depends on routeThe page says entry typically requires a portfolio.
- Interview
- Not published
- Deadlines
- Trimester 1 2027 applications close 7 February 2027 · Trimester 1 2027
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Estimated tuition (student contribution), first year full-timeTuition | A$9,881per year, As published (academic year not stated beside the figure) | Commonwealth Supported Place (CSP) | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)