Master’s degree
Master of Architecture (Research)
Deakin University · School of Architecture and Built Environment · Geelong, Victoria, Australia
- Official award
- Master of Architecture (Research)MArch
- Pathway
- ResearchStated for Australia
- Format
- Hybrid2 years full-time or part-time equivalent
- Tuition
- Not published
Hybrid program
About this program
Research master at Deakin on architecture topics such as history and theory, design and practice, building science and digital design; listing both Waterfront and Online delivery.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture and Built Environment
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
- Why we classify it this way
- Deakin describes this as a supervised research master with a thesis of up to 50,000 words.“Deepen your knowledge on a chosen topic within the field of architecture through independent, sustained and academically supervised research.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- HybridPart online and part in person (studios, residencies, assessments or placements). A hybrid degree is never described as fully online.
- Online instruction
- Blended with required campus elements
- Campus studio required
- Not published
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- 2 years full-time or part-time equivalent
- Thesis or dissertation
- Thesis of up to 50,000 words plus at least one unit of coursework
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Waterfront campus (Geelong)
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- The course page lists both Waterfront campus and Online as locations; the exact balance of on-campus and online work is not stated.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)