Master’s degree
Master of Architecture (online via Open Universities Australia)
Curtin University · Architecture (Curtin University) · No campus · institution based in Australia
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for Australia
- Format
- Online2 years full time or part time equivalent
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Curtin Master of Architecture delivered online through Open Universities Australia, with a practicum placement.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Architecture (Curtin University)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- AACA states the accredited qualification in Australia is the Master of Architecture, and its list names Curtin M Arch codes OM-ARCH and OW-ARCH delivered online through Open Universities Australia.“In Australia, the accredited qualification is the Master of Architecture. Bachelor-level qualifications are not accredited.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- The page says the Master is the final stage of the five-year pathway to registration; recognition is by the Architects Board of Western Australia.Source
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordArchitects Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA) with the state and territory architect registration boardsProgram accreditationFull statusAU
Scope: Curtin University delivered online through Open Universities Australia: Master of Architecture OM-ARCH, commencement year 2019 as listed by AACA (list updated September 2026)
Verified in official recordArchitects Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA) with the state and territory architect registration boardsProgram accreditationFull statusAU
Scope: Curtin University delivered online through Open Universities Australia: Master of Architecture OW-ARCH, commencement year 2024 as listed by AACA (list updated September 2026)
Stated by the schoolArchitects Board of Western Australia via AACA (as stated by OUA)Program accreditationFull statusAU
Scope: OUA page states codes OM-ARCH and OW-ARCH are accredited by the Architects Board of Western Australia through AACA
Study structure
- Delivery
- OnlineAcademic instruction is fully online. Check the details for campus visits, in-person assessment and synchronous attendance.
- Online instruction
- Fully online academic instruction
- Campus studio required
- No
- Campus residencies or workshops
- None listed on the Open Universities Australia page, which describes the study method as 100% online
- In-person assessment
- Assessments are listed as 100% online
- Local placement
- A core subject includes 100 hours of unpaid internship in a host organisation
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- 2 years full time or part time equivalent
- Internship or placement
- 100 hours of unpaid internship in a host organisation
- Intakes
- Not published
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- Delivery confirmed on 2026-10-19 from the OUA page: 100% online study with a practicum placement and 100% online assessments; studio attendance and live-session requirements are not stated.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Bachelor of Applied Science (Architectural Science), equivalent qualification or cognate qualification; competitive entry
- Deadlines
- Applications close (2026)
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)