Master’s degree
Master of Architecture
Cranbrook Academy of Art · Architecture (department of Cranbrook Academy of Art) · Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, United States
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureMArch
- Pathway
- Post-professionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- $49,250per year, 2026-27
About this program
Studio-based graduate architecture program in an art academy, built on self-directed, project-based research, material experimentation and weekly critiques.
Intended audience: Practising or aspiring designers who want to extend their practice, including registered architects and graduates of professional or non-professional degrees.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Architecture (department of Cranbrook Academy of Art)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Post-professional / specialistA specialist or advanced master’s that builds on a professional degree or does not by itself lead to registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Admission presupposes a Bachelor of Architecture or equivalent, and the academy states it deliberately does not seek NAAB accreditation, so the program is a studio-research master's rather than an accredited route.“Since our founding, Cranbrook has intentionally not pursued professional NAAB accreditation to remain a space of open experimentation and independent, practice-based research.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Depends on route
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Depends on previous study | Not published | – | Bachelor of Architecture or equivalent; applicants with a degree in another field may be considered individually after portfolio and experience review.Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Not published
- Studio requirements
- Studio-based, self-directed project work with weekly critiques and workshops.
- Intakes
- Fall 2027
- Campus
- Cranbrook Educational Community campus39221 Woodward Ave, Bloomfield Hills, MI 48303
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- International applicants: official TOEFL or IELTS score; the page states a minimum IELTS of 7.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredUp to 20 examples of recent work uploaded through SlideRoom.
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Previous qualification
- Bachelor of Architecture or equivalent undergraduate degree
- Documents
- Statement of purpose, CV or resume, two letters of recommendation, portfolio, unofficial bachelor's transcript, application fee.
- Deadlines
- Submit by February 1, 2027 for Gilbert Fellowship and priority scholarship consideration; applications accepted until February 1. · Fall 2027
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total tuition, Class of 2027 (continuing students)Tuition | $49,250per year, 2026-27 | Class of 2027 | 19 October 2026Source |
| Total tuition, Class of 2028 (new students)Tuition | $51,250per year, 2026-27 | Class of 2028 | 19 October 2026Source |
| Application fee (Fall 2027 applicants)Application fee · mandatory | $25one-time, Fall 2027 applications | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Lab / Facility Fee (charged to all Academy students)Studio fee · mandatory | $1,550per year, 2026-27 | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Studio deposit on offer of admissionDeposit · mandatory | $1,000one-time, On admission (Fall 2027 entry) | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Gilbert Fellowships and merit scholarships Fellowship
Competitive · Up to 10 full-tuition Gilbert Fellowships and over 50 merit scholarships each year
Eligibility: Gilbert Fellowships are for students from diverse backgrounds; merit scholarships are based on submitted portfolios.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)