Master’s degree
Professional Master of Architecture
Cornell University · Department of Architecture, College of Architecture, Art, and Planning (AAP) · Ithaca, New York, United States
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch.
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campus3.5 years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Three-and-one-half-year professional master's open to applicants with a four-year bachelor's degree in any discipline; option studios are held in New York City.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Department of Architecture, College of Architecture, Art, and Planning (AAP)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page states the M.Arch. is fully accredited and prepares graduate students for careers in architecture.“The fully accredited M.Arch. program is a three-and-one-half-year course of study dedicated to preparing graduate students from diverse disciplines and backgrounds for careers in architecture. The M.Arch. program is open”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- No
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior degree in another subject | 3.5 years | – | Four-year bachelor's degree in any disciplineSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture, Cornell University. NAAB directory status: Accredited. initial accreditation 2009; last reaffirmation 2021; next team visit 2029.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2028
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 3.5 years
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Ithaca campus (Arts Quad)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredPortfolio of creative work: 12-20 pieces or projects in a PDF no larger than 20MB, uploaded with the application.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Individuals must hold a bachelor's degree in any field.
- Deadlines
- The deadline for receiving all application materials for the M.Arch. program is January 4 (fall 2027 admissions cycle) · Fall 2027
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)