Master’s degree
Master of Architecture
Columbia University · Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation (GSAPP) · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch.
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campus3 years (six semesters of studio)
- Tuition
- $36,600per term, 2026-27
About this program
Three-year studio-centred professional master's at the Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation (GSAPP)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page describes the M.Arch as a three-year accredited professional degree program.“is a three-year accredited professional degree program and is regularly ranked one of the top architecture graduate programs in the country. At GSAPP, architecture is understood as a form of”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture, Columbia University. NAAB directory status: Accredited. initial accreditation 1945/46; 1973/74; last reaffirmation 2021; next team visit 2029.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2028
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 3 years (six semesters of studio)
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Morningside Heights campus (Avery Hall)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredDigital portfolio, single PDF of 20 pages or less; applicants with architectural and non-architectural backgrounds are both encouraged.
- Interview
- Not published
- Deadlines
- Application Deadline: January 3, 2027 · 2027 admissions
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| GSAPP master's degree tuition per term (12-19 points); preliminary 2026-27 estimateTuition | $36,600per term, 2026-27 | Preliminary, subject to Columbia University Board of Trustees approval | 19 October 2026Source |
| Application fee (as listed in the Master of Architecture section)Application fee · mandatory | $75one-time, 2027 admissions | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)