Research doctorate (PhD)
Doctoral studies in Architecture (Graduate school in Architecture)
Doctoral programme in Architecture
Chalmers University of Technology · Chalmers architecture education (Arkitektur) · Gothenburg, Sweden
- Official award
- Doctoral degree in Architecture (Graduate school in Architecture, Department of Architecture and Civil Engineering)
- Pathway
- Research
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
A doctoral programme in architecture within Chalmers' Department of Architecture and Civil Engineering, covering theory and practice from architectural history to building design and urban planning; applicants apply for advertised doctoral positions.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Chalmers architecture education (Arkitektur)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
- Pathway
- Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
- Why we classify it this way
- Chalmers presents the graduate school in architecture as a doctoral research programme entered after a master's degree.“Then you should apply for a doctoral position after your master’s degree.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Thesis or dissertation
- Governed by a general syllabus for the graduate school (revised 2021-07-06, ACE 2021-0172); the syllabus PDF was not read.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Chalmers, Gothenburg (master's programmes in architecture)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- Teaching and supervision language is not stated on the graduate-school page.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Master's degree (applicants are invited to apply for a doctoral position after their master's degree).
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Research degree details
- Department
- Department of Architecture and Civil Engineering
- Research themes
- design
- sustainable built environments
- urban planning
- Previous qualifications
- Master's degree.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)