Bachelor’s degree
Architecture - BA (Hons) Degree
Cardiff Metropolitan University · Cardiff School of Art & Design · Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
- Official award
- BA (Hons) ArchitectureBA
- Pathway
- Pre-professionalStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campus3 years full time
- Tuition
- £16,000per year, Course Fee 2026/27
About this program
Three-year BA (Hons) Architecture at the Cardiff School of Art & Design (UCAS K100); the course page does not mention RIBA validation, ARB lists it at Part 1.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Cardiff School of Art & Design
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree entered after secondary school.
- Pathway
- Pre-professionalA first stage. The source says further study or a further qualification is needed before registration or licensure.
- Why we classify it this way
- ARB lists the BA at Part 1 and explains that a UK Part 1 holder still needs a master's-level (or old Part 2) qualification and a practice-level qualification.“If you have a UK Part 1 only You will need: An accredited Master’s level qualification that encompasses the Academic Outcomes or an old Part 2 qualification”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: Bachelor of Arts Honours in Architecture, Part 1, ARB Schedule 1
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 3 years full time
- Intakes
- 2027
- Campus
- Llandaff Campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredSuccessful portfolio review.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Tariff points 120-128
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate degree tuition fee, International studentsTuition | £16,000per year, Course Fee 2026/27 | International Student Courses Fees | 19 October 2026Source |
Calculated tuition total: £48,000 (International students). Calculated from published annual tuition for Course Fee 2026/27 x 3 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes studio, materials, printing, software and other charges.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)