Master’s degree
Master of Architecture (Professional)
Auckland University of Technology · Architecture and Built Environment (AUT) · Auckland, New Zealand
- Official award
- Master of Architecture (Professional)MArch(Prof)
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for New Zealand
- Format
- On campus2 years full-time / part-time available (240 points)
- Tuition
- NZ$11,267per year, Annual; academic year not stated on page
About this program
Two-year professional Master of Architecture (Professional) at AUT City Campus, with Te Aranga Māori design principles in the curriculum.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Architecture and Built Environment (AUT)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- NZRAB lists the AUT Master of Architecture (Professional) as a recognised qualification for initial registration.“Auckland University of Technology — Master of Architecture (Professional)”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Yes
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | 2 years full-time / part-time available | – | Bachelor of Architecture and Future Environments or equivalent with a B grade average or higher in level 7 coursesSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordArchitects Accreditation Council of Australia (AACA) accredited-qualifications list (international qualifications, New Zealand)Program accreditationFull statusNZ
Scope: AUT MArch (Prof), commencement year 2020 in the AACA international qualifications table (list updated September 2026)
Stated by the schoolNew Zealand Registered Architects Board (as stated by AUT)Program accreditationFull statusNZ
Scope: AUT states the programme is professionally accredited by NZRAB
Verified in official recordNew Zealand Registered Architects Board (NZRAB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusNZ
Scope: AUT Master of Architecture (Professional) is on NZRAB list of degrees recognised for Pathway 1 registration
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- 2 years full-time / part-time available (240 points)
- Credits
- 240 AUT pointsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- 22 Feb 2027
- Campus
- AUT City Campus
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition fees for 120 points (full-time workload as published), excluding student services levyTuition | NZ$11,267per year, Annual; academic year not stated on page | Domestic | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Tuition fees for 120 points (full-time workload as published), excluding student services levyTuition | NZ$47,200per year, Annual; academic year not stated on page | International | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)