Research doctorate (PhD)
Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) - listed under Architecture and Built Environment
Auckland University of Technology · Architecture and Built Environment (AUT) · Auckland, New Zealand
- Official award
- Doctor of PhilosophyPhD
- Pathway
- ResearchStated for New Zealand
- Format
- On campus3 years full-time or 6 years part-time
- Tuition
- NZ$8,906per year, 2027
About this program
AUT's research-only doctorate (programme AK3518); AUT lists it among the postgraduate programmes of its architecture and built environment study area.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Architecture and Built Environment (AUT)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
- Pathway
- Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
- Why we classify it this way
- AUT describes the PhD as a research-only degree.“The Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) is the University's highest qualification. The degree is undertaken by research only”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- 3 years full-time or 6 years part-time
- Intakes
- 1 Feb 2027, 3 May 2027, 5 Jul 2027, 4 Oct 2027
- Campus
- AUT City Campus
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- IELTS (Academic) 6.5 overall with 7.0 in Writing and no band less than 6.0, or equivalent (all other study areas); lower Writing score for engineering, computer and mathematical sciences
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Master's degree, or bachelor's degree with honours (four years of study, last year at postgraduate level), at first or second class (first division) standard, in a specialisation appropriate to the proposed research
- Documents
- Formal research proposal; academic transcripts; degree certificates; CV; 1-2 page outline of the proposed research
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Research degree details
- Department
- School of Future Environments (as named on the architecture and built environment page)
- Finding a supervisor
- The Graduate Research School assesses eligibility and the faculty confirms possible research areas and supervisors
- Research proposal
- Formal research proposal specifying the field of research and a general research question
- Previous qualifications
- Master's degree or bachelor's degree with honours at first or second class (first division) standard
- Study modes
- 3 years full-time or 6 years part-time
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| PhD tuition fees, domestic, 2027 (excludes student services levy)Tuition | NZ$8,906per year, 2027 | Domestic | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| PhD tuition fees, offshore study, 2027 (excludes student services levy)Tuition | NZ$48,400per year, 2027 | Offshore study | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)