Architecture Schools

Research doctorate (PhD)

PhD Studies

PhD programme (architecture and design)

Aarhus School of Architecture · Aarhus School of Architecture · Aarhus, Denmark

Official award
PhDPhD
Pathway
Research
Format
On campus
Tuition
Not published

About this program

A research doctorate in which students complete an independent project under supervision within the school's research environment; funded places are advertised as vacancies, and self-financed enrolment has no deadline.

Subject
Architecture
Department
Aarhus School of Architecture
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
Pathway
Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
Why we classify it this way
The school describes the PhD as a research education supplementing the master's programme.“The PhD Programme is an internationally recognised research education and an independent supplement to our Master’s Degree Programme.”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Not published
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Stated by the schoolDanish Accreditation Council / Danish Accreditation InstitutionInstitutional recognitionOther statusDK

    Scope: Institutional accreditation of the school's quality-assurance system, decided 9 June 2020 for a six-year period (school announcement). Whether it has been renewed since was not verified.

    Dates: 9 June 2020 to not stated

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Thesis or dissertation
Submission and assessment of a PhD dissertation.
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Aarhus School of Architecture, Exners PladsExners Plads 7, 8000 Aarhus C

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Differences by campus or pathway
Teaching/supervision language is not stated on the fetched pages; teaching_languages left empty.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Master's degree or similar based on five years of study (300 ECTS).
Documents
An individual PhD project description within the area of expertise of the school's scientific staff.
Official instructions
Application instructions

Research degree details

Finding a supervisor
Applicants propose an individual project; supervision prior to enrolment is not provided.
Research proposal
Describe an individual PhD project within the expertise of the school's scientific staff.
Previous qualifications
Master's degree or similar based on five years of study (300 ECTS).
Deadlines
Deadlines are advertised with vacant PhD positions; no deadline for self-financed enrolment.

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • PhD scholarship (employment) Stipend

    Competitive · Covers salary, guidance, teaching, workplace, equipment, assessment and publication of the dissertation (as published).

    Eligibility: Apply for an advertised vacancy; candidates are assessed by an assessment committee.

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction