Master’s degree
Master of Arts in Architecture
Aarhus School of Architecture · Aarhus School of Architecture · Aarhus, Denmark
- Official award
- Master of Arts (MA) in ArchitectureMA
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for Denmark
- Format
- On campusTwo years, full time, 120 ECTS
- Tuition
- €18,000per year, Academic year of the programme starting September 2026
About this program
A two-year, 120 ECTS research-based master's in architecture in which students choose a study unit (studio) followed throughout the programme; an English-taught version is offered to international applicants.
Intended audience: Graduates of a bachelor's in architecture or architectural studies, including international applicants to the English-taught version.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Aarhus School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- The school states the master's qualifies students for employment as architects; its degree is RIBA Part 2 validated and listed by the Danish Architects' Association as a qualifying degree.“The purpose of the Master’s programme in Architecture is, on an artistic and scientific basis, to qualify students for employment as architects in Denmark as well as internationally.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Yes
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- No
- Further professional requirements
- ACE's country profile states no professional training is required by law in Denmark.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | 2 years, 120 ECTS, full time | 120 | Bachelor's degree in architecture or architectural studies (Bachelor of Architecture or equivalent for international applicants).Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: PART 2 Master of Arts in Architecture (with effect from the 2015 graduating cohort), as printed on RIBA's validated international schools list
Further requirements: RIBA validation is a UK body's peer-review of the programme; it does not itself confer registration in Denmark or the UK.
Stated by the schoolDanish Accreditation Council / Danish Accreditation InstitutionInstitutional recognitionOther statusDK
Scope: Institutional accreditation of the school's quality-assurance system, decided 9 June 2020 for a six-year period (school announcement). Whether it has been renewed since was not verified.
Dates: 9 June 2020 to not stated
Verified in official recordDanish Association of Architects (Akademisk Arkitektforening)Association membershipFull statusDK
Scope: The association's membership FAQ lists the M.Arch. from Aarhus School of Architecture (or the Royal Academy) as a qualifying degree for membership and the title 'architect MAA'.
Further requirements: Membership is voluntary; the title 'architect' itself is not protected in Denmark.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Two years, full time, 120 ECTS
- Credits
- 120 ECTSCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Studio requirements
- Students choose a study unit (studio) followed throughout the programme.
- Intakes
- September
- Campus
- Aarhus School of Architecture, Exners PladsExners Plads 7, 8000 Aarhus C
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Danish, English
- English
- Partly taught in EnglishAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- An English-taught version exists for international full-degree applicants alongside the Danish-taught programme.
- Published language requirements
- IELTS Academic at least 6.5, TOEFL paper-based at least 577, Cambridge CPE/CAE, or a complete bachelor's degree taught in English in listed countries.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredInternational applicants are assessed on documentation including a portfolio; applicants prioritise three studios. The school expects to reject at least 90 % of applicants.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Bachelor of Architecture or equivalent; the only Danish degrees qualifying are a BA in Architecture from Aarhus School of Architecture or the Royal Danish Academy.
- Documents
- Application guidelines and portfolio requirements are published as a PDF.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition for non-EU/EEA students, programme starting September 2026Tuition | €18,000per year, Academic year of the programme starting September 2026 | Students holding EU or EEA citizenship are exempt from the tuition requirement. | 19 October 2026Source |
Calculated tuition total: €36,000 (International students). Calculated from published annual tuition for Academic year of the programme starting September 2026 x 2 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes studio, materials, printing, software and other charges.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)