Architecture Schools

Research doctorate (PhD)

Doctor of Science (Architecture)

Aalto University · Department of Architecture, School of Arts, Design and Architecture · Otaniemi, Espoo, Finland

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Doctor of Science (Architecture)DSc
Pathway
Research
Format
On campusTarget time four years full-time; four to eight years part-time
Tuition
Not published

About this program

A research doctorate in architecture awarded via Aalto's doctoral programme in Arts, Design and Architecture; full-time target time is four years.

Subject
Architecture
Department
Department of Architecture, School of Arts, Design and Architecture
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
Pathway
Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
Why we classify it this way
Aalto lists Doctor of Science (Architecture) among the doctoral degrees offered through its doctoral programmes (School of Arts, Design and Architecture).“Doctor of Science (Architecture)”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Not published
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time, Part-time
Duration
Target time four years full-time; four to eight years part-time
Thesis or dissertation
Doctoral thesis with pre-examination and defence.
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Otaniemi campus

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Differences by campus or pathway
Language of the doctoral programme is not stated on the fetched pages; teaching_languages left empty.
Published language requirements
Proficiency in one of the languages of the doctoral programme.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Generally, a Master's degree is required to apply for doctoral studies.
Documents
Each doctoral programme has its own processes, schedules, requirements and instructions for applicants.
Official instructions
Application instructions

Research degree details

Department
Department of Architecture
Previous qualifications
Generally, a Master's degree.
Study modes
Full-time or part-time.
Deadlines
Aalto Doctoral Programme in Arts, Design and Architecture (ARTS): application period Feb-March annually, 2nd phase April-May; admission results in June, start of studies in Aug/Sep (year not stated).

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • Salaried doctoral researcher position or personal grants/scholarships Funding

    Basis not stated

    Eligibility: Most students combine funding sources; salaried positions are applied for separately and advertised on Aalto's open positions page.

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked